Some countries has uniform for their staff which must be worn at all the times. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a uniform for the company and staff?

In recent years, there is a trend of wearing uniform for the staff of few companies which must be worn at the work. The merits and demerits of this trend will be discussed in following paragraphs.

Firstly, wearing uniform of the companies is economical for the employee as they are provided by the firm or organisation they are working for. This saves the expenses of staffs on clothes. For instance, in Nepal government employees are supposed to purchase less clothes because they are given clothes for the work by the firm they are working for. Secondly, companies can take advantages as it can be used for advertisement purpose. While their staffs passes by people can see the name and logo of the firm printed in their uniform which might be helpful for company to grow. For example, ‘Switch on digital’ sales has grown by 50% since they opted for using company uniform for their staff for a advertisement campaign.

On the other hand, there are numerous demerits of this trend. Firstly, this will reduce the flexibility of wearing clothes for the employee. For instance, research by indepth story shows, more than 60% of government employee of nepal are irritated by using same clothes repetitively. Secondly, it will increase the budget of the firm. Expenses of the organisation expands since uniforms are provided by them.

In conclusion, having a uniform for the company and staff is beneficial because it is economical for staff and it can also be used as promotion by firm. However, less flexibility in clothes for staffs and increase in expenses of a firm can be considered as its demerits.