Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Enormous quantity of food is brought in from different worldwide continents by some countries. In my opinion, it is more about positive trend since it gives opportunity to taste something untypical and may lead to decrease of prices.

To begin with, it is great chance to try something new. According to the climate and land conditions of countries, the exact type of vegetables or fruits can not be grown as well as producing some general food as beverages or sweets due to the policies or lack of resources. Importing creates the conditions to try that unavailable food for population, just by buying it from other countries and reselling to local supermarkets and grocery stores, where people are able to buy and taste that novelty. In addition, without importing, population will be able to eat unusual food only when they go abroad or order delivery, which is much more expensive than previous method. For example, coconuts cannot be grown in Russia because of climate conditions in which they require for wet and warm weather.

Moreover, it may affect the prices in markets. As soon as importing occurs, it means that a lot of grocery shops will purchase foreign goods to attract population for buying them. The person will probably go to the shop, where prices will be relatively affordable and low and it may lead to so called «war of discounts» in which every market owner tries to reduce the prices in order to lure as many clients as possible. Competition will be on high level, where the most cheap store is going to win and make all the people its buyers. Also it worthies to mention that not everything will depend on prices, range of goods has significant role. People like both cheap and varied food at the same time. For example, the majority of German shops daily reducing prices on imported watermelon in order to attract more purchasers

In conclusion, importing is positive development since people are able to eat unfamiliar food and decline of prices is suggested.