Some countries invest a significant amount of money in promoting the use of bicycles. Why do you think this is the case? Does it have a positive or negative impact on individuals and the society?

Nowadays, some nations in the world encourage the use of bicycles through substantial financial investment. In my opinion, there could be some reasons why this is the case and this move would have favourable consequences at both individual and societal level.

There are three main reasons contributing to this new trend, the most conspicuous being the degradation of air quality. The multiplication of private cars and the toxic substances, such as particle fine matters and carbon dioxide, emitted from vehicle engines have become the primary cause of lung cancer and other respiratory illnesses that trigger numerous premature deaths worldwide each year. Furthermore, traffic congestion has become a social malaise that plagues cities around the globe, increasing the overall commuting time and depriving individuals of quality time with family members. Lastly, modern sedentary lifestyle or lack of physical exercises leads to serious health problems, like obesity and diabetes, posing threats to the public health and potentially strain state healthcare system.

Encouraging citizens to integrate cycling in their daily commuting routines could be largely beneficial for individuals and the entire society, despite the sacrifices made on personal comfort and the large amount of funds allocated. The most obvious advantage lies in the alleviation of air pollution, as more people leave their cars in the garage and adopt a greener mode of commuting. Additionally, the ease on traffic jam and a decrease in commuting time allows people to enjoy more free time with families or engage in other leisure activities, which promotes a more balanced work and private life. Finally, as a form of sports, cycling enables people to exercise their muscles and burn calories, ensuring a healthy weight and an improved cardiovascular function. A healthier population would be a boon for the society since their boosted productivity faciltates economic growth.

In conclusion, environmental pollution, congested roads and the public’s potential health issues are the main concern for countries who advocate for the use of bikes and this shift has numerous positive effects in terms of ameliorating air quality, smoothing the roads and promoting health.