Some countries invest a significant amount of money in promoting the use of bicycles. Why do you think this is the case? Does it have a positive or negative impact on individuals and the society?

Nowadays, nations across the world are encouraging the use of bicycles by providing financial investment. In my opinion, there could be some reasons why this is the case and this has benefited them in dealing with the environment issues like Global warming.

The first most forwarding reason for promoting the use of bicycles is the degrading air quality. The increase in the number of private vehicles due to the government providing subsidies for the purchase of vehicles, the carbon dioxide concentration in the atmosphere is increasing from the smoke emitted by these vehicles. As a result, diseases like lung cancer, asthma are increasing and it has also triggered numerous deaths all over the world. Secondly, today people are very busy with their work and lifestyle. As a result they lack physical exercises which invite serious health problems like blood pressure, diabetes and it also affects the healthcare system of the particular nation.

Promoting the use of bicycles impacts positively on the individuals and the society. Although large funds are allocated and people are sacrificing their comfort, the most obvious advantage is dealing with the air quality. People leave their cars and adopt a greener mode of transporting.

Additionally, people started getting healthier by doing physical exercise, like cycling. From cycling, people burn calories and strengthen their muscles and maintain a healthy weight. A healthy population is boon for the society and it ultimately benefits the economy of the nation.

In conclusion, encouraging the individuals to use bicycles is necessary as it will help in dealing with the major environmental concern that is global warming and also the health issues of individuals. It has impacted the society in a positive way as it helps in maintaining the good air quality and improving people’s health by cycling regularly.