Some countries invest a significant amount of money in promoting the use of bicycles. Why do you think this is the case? Does it have a positive or negative impact on individuals and the society?

In recent times, the developed and the developing nations across the world are emphasizing the use of bicycles by providing financial investment. This essay will provide the reasons for this trend and also the positive negative effect on the individuals and the society.

The first most forwarding reason for promoting the use of bicycles came from the deteriorating air quality. The increase in the number of private vehicles due to the government providing subsidies for the purchase of vehicles, there is a huge surge in carbon dioxide concentration in the atmosphere. As a result, diseases like lung cancer, asthma are increasing and it has also triggered numerous deaths all over the world. Secondly, today people are very busy with their work and lifestyle. As a result they lack physical exercises which invite serious health problems like blood pressure, diabetes and it also affects the healthcare system of the particular nation.

The promotion of use of bicycles impacts positively on the individuals and the society. Although large funds are allocated and people are sacrificing their comfort, the most obvious advantage is dealing with the air quality. People leave their cars at home and adopt a greener mode of transportation. Additionally, people started getting healthier by doing physical exercise, like cycling. From cycling, people burn calories and strengthen their muscles and maintain a healthy weight. A healthy population is boon for the society and it ultimately benefits the economy of the nation.

In conclusion, encouraging the individuals to use bicycles is imperative to address the major environmental concern that is global warming and also addresses the health issues of individuals. Additionally, the impact on the society and the individuals is positive, as it helps in preserving the good air quality and the betterment of public health through regular cycling. As a result it will less burden the healthcare system of the nation.