Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Several nations significantly allocate their expenditure to the professional training of athletes to be well qualified for major competitions such as the Olympic Games. One school of thought therefore argues that the governmental budget should be distributed to enhance public infrastructural facilities so as to encourage children to participate in sports activities at their early development. Personally, I partly agree with the belief, with my argument lying on the balanced resources’ investment on both parties.

On the one hand, spending on the preparation of professional competitors is justifiable when it comes to the national pride a country takes from individual qualifications. Such pride ultimately acts as a soft power for the nation, in which its political situation and national position are heightened within the global climate, facilitating the many sectors of society such as diplomatic relations and international opportunities. Additionally, as the resource allocation towards professional athletes contributes to a higher possibility of winning major competitions, this victory could spark national economic growth, especially in the tourism industry. This is attributed to the fact that many sports enthusiasts may want to visit the countries which are powerhouses of certain sports, fostering local economic development.

On the other hand, I believe that it is wiser for the government to distribute its expenditure to motivate children to take part in sports activities. This is because sports play a crucial role in promoting a physically healthy lifestyle and improving mental capacity. Consequently, spendings on sports programmes and public facilities greatly enhance children’s well-rounded development, creating a generation with physical and emotional stability. Moreover, social tension may well arise if the governmental expenditure benefits a specific elite demographic group. Thus, ensuring an inclusive environment where ordinary underage individuals are motivated to participate in sports activities reflects social harmony and an endeavor to nurture future generations.

In conclusion, while the financial allocation towards professional athletes fosters national pride that contributes to a stronger soft power, such a distribution proves equally important regarding children’s encouragement, as an enhanced physical and mental lifestyle among children is beneficial for a holistic development. In my opinion, the government needs to strike a balance between incentivizing competitors and children to create favorable circumstances for both sides.