Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ on whether public fund should be allocated to preparing competitors to take part in major competitions or encouraging children to start playing sport at an early stage. While some people consider the latter is more worthwhile, I largely disagree with this view, as I believe that both initiatives deserve to be taken.

On the one hand, there are valid reasons for the government to direct funds to encourage children to take up sports from a young age. Chief among these is to foster their physical health. Early exposure to sport, especially when children step into crucial periods of growing, allow them to foster the balance between physical and intellectual development. As a result, they may suffer less from some health problems, such as obesity or other lack of nutrition – based health problems. Moreover, these initiatives also help children develop essential social skills. Through practising sport, children could master teamwork , communication skills as well as self- discipline and confidence. These skills could be transferred into real -life situations when they get older, enabling children to be equipped with necessary skills to achieve their goals.

However, investment on athletes for major competitions can, and should, occur in parallel with sport preparation for children, without necessarily compromising physical health of them. First, when the government spends on hiring coaches, facilities, and practice fee, competitors would have sufficient conditions to fully focus on their performance. Once they are regarded and prized, it would contribute to the country’s sport achievement, which efficiently fosters their country’reputation and status. Furthermore, regarded athletes would be considered as role models for residents, especially children, encouraging them to pursue healthy lifestyles involving play sports. Consequently, not only does government allocated funds to children sport programmes trigger benefits, but also investment in competitors results in a positive impact on the community, as it would raise exercise habits and community health.

In conclusion, while some argue that the government should direct money to serve children sport programmes, I contend that both initiatives, investment for children sport and athletes should be taken in parallel to pursue a healthy lifestyle for the whole community.