Some developing countries prioritize attracting foreign investment above all else, even if it means relaxing environmental regulations. Is this a justifiable approach? What are the potential long-term consequences?

It is often argued that in some growing countries, international investment are a necessity regardless of the consequences it might have on the environment. Whether it is reasonable or not depends on how hard nations rely on it. Future outcomes are naturally inevitable.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that foreign investments are indespensible for the economical growth of a state. Higher budgets will be allocated to contribute in different fields such as health, education or even entertainement. This has been the case for many countries. For example, Morocco is well known for opening its doors to external investors in real estate, knowing undoubtedly that it would lead to tourism growth. Moreover, some nations lack the funds to exploit and make good use of their natural resources, which automatically leads them to seeking extra help from well capable and financially established states.

On the other hand, relying on international help could be harmful in a way that a country would lose its own producing capacity. Foreign ivestments would become the easy option and countries would naturally pick that over educating and shaping its own society. Furthermore, the unfortunate outcome would be losing the culture and the identity, for instance, nowadays, most of investors lean towards real estate, rarely paying attention to the environmental context of a country and only focusing on the financial outcome.

To conclude, foreign investments are inevitable for any countries aiming to evolve at the unfortunate cost of losing identity and harming its own environment.