Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical* time, believing this benefits the individual and the organisation. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it. Consider the possible arguments for and against unpaid sabbatical leave, and reach a viewpoint of your own.

There have been numerous debates around unpaid sabbatical time and whether it is beneficial for the organization as a whole or have no real advantage. From my point of view, the decision heavily depends on the organization itself and how it operates throughout daily activities. One company might benefit by giving more spare time to develop certain skills, while others experience periods of time when the process becomes idle, resulting in losses.

From a creativity standpoint, it is useful for employees to spend some time not engaging in the work, such as abstaining from painting, writing poems, or creating a music. Since humans are not robots and not capable of enduring monotonous work ethics, some time left for physical activities like camping, fishing, or having time outdoors help to restore internal balance and introduce a variety. The logic is applied not only artistic works, but also other working environments that require a demanding physical commitment or concentration. For example, flight attendants employ both of the skills and they would greatly benefit from a spare time after a long marathon of flights.

On the other hand, human resource staff might say that for ordinary work seen from most of offices, the need for such holidays would introduce unnecessary paper work. Their main argument is that employees are well rested during non-working hours and additional time would hurt the efficiency of a work progress. For instance, in a world where information spreads faster than anything else, traders or politicians might suffer from missed opportunities. For such positions, one day can cost a significant profit as drop of sales prices or news that alter voting scores won’t last long until it starts to change their strategies.

Overall, there does not exist a solid yes or no answer and the debate will continue to exist. However, it seems that the solution is highly context-dependent, which is why there is no universal strategy. Employeers must keep in mind it to maximize the profit for their organization and keep the workplace efficient.