Some employers believe that job applicants' social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that social skills are more significant than academic qualifications for apply jobs. While acknowledging the reasons behind this proposal.

I would argue that this is not quite true.

Admittedly, it is reasonably why some believe that academic certifications are of less importance than social skills. The primary rationale is that social skills can help one respond to different types of questions by expressing their thoughts not only through words but also with body languages or eye contact, so that if employees have good social skills like communication or problem-solving skills, there might be a higher chance of them passing the job interview compared to the ones without those skills. For this reason, some people believe that real life skills matter more than degrees.

However, I’m convinced academic qualifications should be more important compared to social skills in job application test. Primarily, without certifications, the ability of one might get doubted so it’s rare to see any companies taking risk to pass an employee with no qualification. At the same time, social skills are arguably easier to master compared to achieving qualifications. Social skills can be developed by casual conversations and take almost no money learn but in order to deserve certifications, sometimes require people a lot of money and effort. It might a take somebody around 1-2 year to learn all communication skills just by hanging out more, being more active. In contract, studying for qualifications can take up to a few years even decades. Ultimately, certifications are proofs of somebody has achieved the required ability for certain jobs, results in giving the employers more trust and essential informations about the applicants.

In conclusion, social skills might have some certain advantages for job applications but academic qualifications present more long-term values and significance.