Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

In today’s world, employers are always seeking ways to ensure their employees’ productivity and efficiency to deliver their best at work. Whilst providing subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs is one way but there are a few other ways to increase the effectiveness of employees at work.

On the one hand, providing the subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs might help employees to have a healthier lifestyle while spending most of their time on screen. They would be more eager to join the club if it were sponsored by their employers and did not need to pay a penny. Thus, when the employees implement a healthier lifestyle, it could help them to feel more refreshed and energetic at work.

On the other hand, most of the employees does not have enough time to go to the gym since they prefer to spend their free time doing their hobby. It is because, during that time, the employees can take a rest from work and focus on the things that they enjoy the most. Furthermore, employees would appreciate it more if their employers rewarded them with monetary benefits such as bonuses and allowances. It is because they can spend it in the way they want, and they would be more motivated to do their work, which would maximise productivity. This will indirectly improve the efficiency of the employees at work.

In conclusion, instead of offering subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, employers could take other initiatives, such as offering monetary benefits to ensure productivity.