Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this global environment, connecting with people has been the easiest compared to any point in history. This ease of communication transcends time and space. Thus, some employers insist on contacting the employees on even holidays. The advantages and disadvantages are discussed in the following paragraphs by me, with predilection for the latter.

Due to the fast-paced work environment of certain disciplines, where rapid responses are necessary to stay at the forefront of the industry, some companies expect the staff to be contactable at all times. Some corporations even pay renumerations for extra time. This behavior is boosted because reaching someone is just a phonecall away, and one can check ‘last present online’ status on certain social media to gauge availability.

However, I believe this approach has more cons. Because even if a person appears to be free, in their leisure period they have full autonomy of their time. In fact, certain studies show that well rested individuals perform at better capacity and have higher efficiency. Moreover, proper rest and hoilday elevates the mood of working force, and increases their goodwill towards the organization. Also, keeping work and private life seperate is better for a person, and also obviates potential issues of misappropriation of company resources for private gains.

In conclusion, companies should only contact employees in case of an emergency. For the regular holidays and after work hours they should not be approached. This creates a positive work-life balance and helps both the employers and employees, and enhances productivity.