Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s fast-paced, globally connected world, some organizations expect to stay connected with their employees not only during working days but also during their vacation. While this development has its advantages, I firmly believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

One of the primary disadvantages is increasing the stress level and pressure among the employees.We know that holidays are meant to be spent with their families or relax them and stay away for some time from all the mundane pressure. A gap from the work boosts their energy and also refreshes them so they can work efficiently. When employees are constantly engaged in their office work, it can affect their family relations, and their quality time turns into a frustration.

Similarly, on the organizational level, demand for constant availability might affect long-term business health as chronic stress and fatigue lead to effects on their work productions and might increase the chances of making mistakes and also job dissatisfaction. As a result, employers have to face turnover; there is a chance to increase the cost for training and hiring new employees. Many workers could switch their jobs to organizations that respect their privacy.

However, all the time, staying connected with your employers can enhance your efficiency and make you responsible toward your job. Some occupations need your twenty-four-hour availability because of the nature of the job, such as doctors and IT sectors. As a doctor, their job nature is different; they have to be available every second because it is linked with someone’s life, and as IT professionals, they have to be active because now that the world is operating on the internet and websites, negligency of a few seconed could result in a loss of millions for them who have online businesses and jobs.

In conclusion, constant communication between employers and staff during holidays can have advantages, but we cannot overlook the associated drawbacks. Therefore, as an organization, set a limit and respect their personal time.