Some experts believe a competitive environment is necessary to motivate students to study effectively, whereas others disagree and think that this could potentially result in an excessive amount of stress.

Competitive environment is said to be necessary by some experts in order to motivate students to study effectively. Replying back, some disagree believing that it could potentially cause an excessive amount of stress for the students. I stand in believing that both statements are true.

These days, competitive environment is everywhere, especially in school. Students would feel motivated when they are surrounded with ambitious friends but, on the other hand some may feel stressed out as they cannot achieve the same level as their friends. Therefore, being in a competitive environment has both advantages and disadvantages. Continuing on advantages, students would be pushed to be as ambitious as their friends around them. They would have more passion in studying and outstanding results might be coming there way. For example, students might motivate other to try harder in what they do or invite them to be active in organizations or competitions. Having them creating great results.

Furthermore, feeling excessive stress might also follow their footsteps. Not being able to reach the same level as people around you would lead to a huge feeling of dissappointment. Always feeling you are not good enough even though you tried harder than any other people around you. The worst scenario of excessive stress is dangerous illnesses as well as suicidal attempts. For instance, being the only person to fail in class might be an embarassing moment. This situation would stress one out and do suicidal attempts.

To conclude, it is great to be in a competitive environment but, you need to make sure that the students are able to cope it well. Help them create a great coping mechanism to avoid excessive amount of stress. Help students find their best coping mechanism in a competitive environment. That way they are able to enjoy their time in class and have fun with their friends throughout their teenage years.