Some experts believe that it is better for animals to live in zoos as they are safe and given all the food they want. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that animals are better off residing in zoos because they are provided a secure environment and ample sustenance. While this recommendation entails some disadvantages, the advantages far exceed in importance.

There are various downsides to conserving animals in zoos. The animals may not be accustomed to the confinement in zoos as they cannot replicate their vast natural habitats. This in turn may lead to stress, boredom and behavioral abnormalities, affecting their physical and mental well-being. Additionally, some visitors tend to throw projectiles at those vulnerable creatures, and if these successfully hit the animals, they could potentially be harmed seriously. Apart from this, some zoo owners gravitate more towards commercialization and prioritize profit over the welfare of animals. This can result in unethical practices and exploitation – including, but not limited to using animals even if they are extremely tired and organizing dangerous fights between them. Therefore, it may sometimes be harmful for animals to live in zoos.

However, despite the clear negatives, there are also significant positive sides of keeping creatures in captivity. The first one relates to animal husbandry. The animals receive a surplus of nutritional food that suits to their diet and also regular checks that ensure they will stay healthy by providing necessary drugs. The second advantage is a sanctuary that offers protection from external threats. In the wild areas, roam numerous dangers such as natural predators searching for a prey. If the wild creatures happen to catch their preys, there will most likely be no remnants of them left, so zoos are highly advantageous in this sense. Moreover, oftentimes, possessing genetic odds marked by inability to repopulate or damaged immunity to diseases, animals are in grave peril of extinction. Nonetheless, zoos in such circumstance can reinforce conservation breeding programs, assigning experts to find solutions targeted at eliminating these abnormalities and returning the species to their normal populations. Thus, zoos hold a crucial function in animals’ lives.

In conclusion, although zoos might expose animals to mistreatment, exploitation, and loss of freedom, they contribute to the overall conditions immensely by allowing them to grow in food-available home, free from the dangers of outside as well going extinct. Considering all these essential benefits, I strongly argue that zoos are necessary places for animals.