Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern day, more and more countries become rich as their economy grows, and some experts claim that after a certain point any additional raise in wealth does not increase the satisfaction for citizens. And while some counter arguments can be made, I strongly support this belief.

Firstly, it is important to mention that once people have enough money to support themselfs, they usually contact private businesses when looking for the ways to improve their lives. What this means is that since an increase in country’s wealth does not always make private enterprises richer, they don’t get more money to improve the services they provide for citizens.

While it can be argued that additional economic wealth can always be spent to improve the quality of life for poor people or those who don’t have the ability to support themselfs, it is not guaranteed that the government will use its wealth like that. Corruption is always present, and it is obvious that when a country becomes richer the politicians are the ones who will most likely benefit from economic growth. This means that only a small percentage of people will get wealthier, while everyone else, especially the ones that need support from the government the most, will only recieve a small amount of money.

In conclusion, both the fact that citizens usually turn to private businesses when looking to improve their lives and that the government corruption only makes politicians who rule the country wealthier, with almost no benefit for others, mean that when a country is already rich, any raise in its economic wealth does not make its people more satisfied.