Some feel that it is impossible for a country to be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time.Others disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, global competition for economic progression is at an all-time high, with countries across the globe striving to triumph over one another in terms of wealth and development. Yet simultaneously, the quality of the environment deteriorates at an alarming rate. While there seems to be a direct correlation between economic advancement and environmental health, I firmly believe that a nation can achieve an equilibrium between economic progression and environmental sustainability.

First and foremost, a country that only focuses on achieving monetary success such as a high GDP, will result in a country with poor environmental conditions, where the land is void of greenery and there is a lack of clean and fresh air to breathe in. Responsible governments will ensure that their country is faring well in terms of finance and the environment, both at the same time. For instance, Singapore is one of the wealthiest and successful countries in the world; Singapore is highly developed with high salaries and abundant job opportunities while at the same time, it is widely known for its lush and beautiful parks and greenery.

On the other hand, less economically developed countries such as Myanmar, generally face much more pressing issues such as political instability and low income. Therefore, countries such as this tend to lack the resources and time to foster a healthy environment and repair the damages that their industries and factories inflict on nature. To combat environmental pollution and rejuvenate the environment, international organisations such as the WHO and the UN, could perhaps guide these countries on how to maintain a safe and sustainable environment.

While it may seem like these two aspects are impossible to juggle all at once, I believe that if there is enough time, resources, and manpower, a country can flourish both economically and environmentally.