Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays there is an ongoing discussion whether long time periods in jail should be replaced with other methods in criminal justice, in order to decrease the number of crimes worldwide. While I agree with this statement, I also believe that some kind of lawbreaking individuals should be punished in the traditional way.

Firstly, it is reasonable to assume that prisoners who have induced aggravated assault or murdered somebody, are not stable mentally and they should undergo treatment with professionals. It could be a more effective way to avoid further crimes, to treat them in different psychological institutions instead of putting them behind bars where they would be surrounded by other, mentally sick individuals who would possibly make them more traumatised. This would result in a vicious circle, making these delinquents even more aggressive. Furthermore, rehabilitation could be helpful for the criminals to reintegrate them into society and with a second chance, reoffending rates could be reduced and they might lead a lifestyle of respecting the laws.

On the other hand, research suggests that in some cases these treatments can not be effective and long prison terms are crucial in order to deter people from further committing serious crimes. An added benefit of jail sentences is that social stability and safety can be ensured by keeping dangerous offenders away from the public. For instance, in nations with strict judicial consequences violent crimes are rarely committed.

In conclusion, although both sides make very valid points, I firmly believe that after having treated such people mentally, the number of crimes can be reduced and therefore governments should aim for proper reinstatement into society so that reoffence can be avoided.