Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Rehabilitating a person is thought by some to be a better way of punishment rather than long prison terms. Others think that imprisonment should remain for the sake of social stability. I agree that rehabilitation is essential for criminals, but i also believe that it should be achieved by reviewing prison terms, instead of getting rid of them.

Special rehabilitation programs are available right now for different problems that individuals face. With this possibility, some people believe it can totally replace imprisonment, because working with an individual on his certain issue will have a better outcome, over putting him in jail with a group of various criminals having other problems. The most popular direction that is followed in many rehabilitation centers is getting sober from drug addiction. While in many states people get charges on possessing illegal substances, where they connect with even more criminals, leading to worse behaviour, they can instead attend such centers and have life-changing outcomes. Hence, the believers of this theory advocate for replacing imprisonment with rehabilitating convicts.

While most of the rehabilitation notion may sound good, prisons still play an irreplaceable role in society. Some criminals are to be kept isolated from other people, and possibly punished for their doings. Rehabilitation, on the other hand, may sound too mild for their crimes and it can cause certain ethical issues. It is true that rehabilitation centers have helped millions of drug addicts, but what if a person was convicted with several charges of murder. In this case, it is not certain that the dedicated help will have positive outcomes, and the families that suffered from the actions of the convict may protest against such a reaction from the court, which are the main reasons people believe in the irreplaceability of jails.

In my opinion, modern prisons are not the best place for people to think about their behaviour, and some certain changes might be benefficial. Most criminals are witnessed to commit even more crimes after being released. But only one group of those who get out of prison keep away from any trouble and they are often those who got deeply into religion. No matter if its Islam or Christianity or any other belief, those convicts who had been following strict rules and had the fear of god were more reliant than the others. It is a great parallel with rehabilitation, since during it individuals go through the same stages of acceptance, as in accepting religion. So, if governments adress the overall issues of existing jails, we as a society might have a better solution for this problem.

In conclusion, while it is true that rehabilitation is extremely benefficial for a human being, it still can not fully replace prison time. For this purpose, integrating proper rehabilitating practises into existing jails could be the best possible approach.