Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Various products have been carried from long distances to people. This process is produced by the fact that the foreign foods can be less expensive than local ones. Also, sometimes foreign products are

rare in the local place and unavailable. As far as I am concerned this is a negative trend because of the adverse impact on the environment and chemicals in the food, that are helping products be fresh all the way to the final point.

A load of product stores are trying to find a way that is connected to cheap transportation and especially with not so expensive production of these products. This can be the reason why they are taking food from foreign farms and factories. If these shops had a chance to buy cheap and demanded products without tax expenses, they would take it. Furthermore, some foodstuffs can be rare and unavailable in the local region. Regional products are not always sufficient, that is why some purchases have been made through times at foreign farms.

Despite all these facts of foreign buyings, I suppose that this is a negative trend. Firstly, I support my opinion by the fact that long transportation can be not sustainable for the environment. Exhaust emissions are released from long transportation from various transports to soil. Secondly, most of the manufacturers put a lot of chemicals into products to stay fresh. This process can lead to low content of utility components in fruits or vegetables. Such foods become dangerous and unhealthy for people.

In conclusion, many foods are imported because local regions can’t grow them. However, I find this negative- this is a sustainable process due to transport emissions, and these products often contain excess chemicals.