Some people say that the most important requirement of a modern city is an effective public transport system. However, others believe that there are other important requirements for a city. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that a well-developed public transit is the most essential requirement of a developed city, while others contend that there are other vital factors for an urban area. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and show why I favor the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that a functioning transport system plays an important role in modern cities. Perhaps the key reason for this is that an affordable and dependable network of buses, trains, and subways helps mitigate traffic congestion and pollution, which are common issues in modern cities. For example, Tokyo and Singapore have invested heavily in public transit systems, making cleaner air and smoother commutes. However, focusing only on transport is likely to overlook other key needs of urban residents.

In addition, I am strongly convinced that accessing quality education and healthcare systems is a basic right in any developed city. Without hospitals or schools, people may suffer from poor health and limited opportunities. A city with free or low-cost education and healthcare services can help diminish inequality, contributing to long-term economic development. Furthermore, focusing on affordable housing may enhance people’s well-being, safety, and quality of life, making a city more attractive to live in and work.

In conclusion, while there are valid reasons to believe that public transit is the most necessary feature of a modern urban area, it is my view that it still needs other aspects like accommodation, healthcare services and education systems to create a developed city.