Some people believe that old buildings, such as town halls and art galleries, should be restored, even though this can be costly. Others argue that governments should replace them with new modern buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over whether the preservation and maintenance of ancient buildings should remain or the opportunity for more modern constructions should be given by razing the older ones. Since heritage buildings carry cultural and historical significance, I am convinced that it is our duty to protect them from structure deterioration.

Admittedly, the idea of leveling the ancient buildings in order to construct contemporary architectures can be supported on many grounds. First and foremost, maintenance of historical buildings requires significant expenses, so from a financial point of view it is not profitable in most cases. Furthermore, heavy investments do not always guarantee longevity of buildings, as some of them simply are not subject to restoration due to initially used materials and methods in construction. These likelihoods are enough for some individuals to argue for demolition of old building in order to give more space and budget to innovative projects of constructions.

However, despite the early-mentioned points, I do not fully advocate for this view. In my opinion we are lucky to have such buildings that possess both: deep historical meaning and fascinating work of art. Therefore, looking after them and preventing their deterioration should be seen as an essential responsibility. In fact, this might be one of effective ways to provide future generation with the knowledge and imagination of ancient eras. Moreover, many concerns about not guaranteed repairing of buildings are exaggerated. As long as scientists work on importing technologies and come up with new innovative methods of restoring, there is no place for concern or uncertainty regarding our capabilities.

In conclusion, although maintaining old buildings is not economically beneficial, this does not diminish the importance of cultural heritages.