Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, foods travel long distances from their original destinations to customers. It is because the climate is different in each region therefore, plants may not grow in some places. Furthermore, it is a positive trend, since it enables people from such areas to enjoy the food that they may not have if it was not possible.

One cause is the varying types of climate in different places. Our planet is round shaped so the sun can not reach everywhere, and crops are affected because they need sun to grow. As a result, food exports tend to be very popular.Although some say foods tend to spoil on their way, it is very rare, and does not reflect the full picture. For example, India produces tropical fruits at extraordinary scales that are shipped to hundreds of countries that do not have suitable climates.

I believe that it is a good thing due to the fact the jobs it brings, and solves the problem such as lack of certain types of food. Before travelling they need to be grown, shipped, and then can be sold to customers. As a result, more people are employed in food chains and can feed their families. For instance, looking at India again, they are an agricultural economy and hundreds of millions of people depend on agricultural exports. Furthermore, it can be a solution to shortage of certain types of fruit and vegetables. Since some nations can not grow plants, they could face a lack of fruits but this has not happened as they can buy it from others. We can give an example of wealthy nations such as Switzerland which is one of the coolest regions in the world. Despite this, their population has access to almost all types of fruits because they import all of them from others.