You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Read the following text from an educational magazine. Some people believe that university students are required to attend classes. Professors view class attendance as an individual student responsibility. However, many students want to be given the freedom to decide which classes to attend. Therefore, going to classes should be optional for students. Write an essay to an educated reader to tell which point of view you agree with. Include specific reasons and any relevant examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words

Opinions are divided on whether class attendance should remain mandatory or optional for university students. Although regular lecture attendance can ensure structured learning, I mostly agree with the latter notion as it can increase students’ motivation and improve their work-life balance.

The first legitimate justification for my advocacy lies in its ability to foster genuine interest. Specifically, when college students are free to choose disciplines that are tailored to their own needs, they can become more engaged and passionate about their learning. Consequently, this can encourage effective receptiveness to complex concepts and new information, resulting in improved academic performance.

Another notable rationale for my approval is that this optional approach can improve students’ quality of life. With greater flexibility to manage their studies, young individuals can spend more time honing their skills, gaining hands-on experience, and maintaining relationships with their loved ones. Many universities in Vietnam, for instance, often allow their pedagogical students to freely opt for their subjects in the first two years, so that these students can work part-time as a tutor, helping them to obtain practical experience for future careers.

Admittedly, I also concede that consistent attendance in academic sessions might ensure structured learning. Indeed, being physically present in classes involving practical experiments, rigorous research, and collective activities can enable students to engage with the materials and interact with lecturers and peers. Therefore, this can lead to in-depth understanding, providing them with essential knowledge for future career prospects.

In conclusion, I largely support the optional attendance at the tertiary level due to its increased desire and life satisfaction, despite the fact that regular attendance might ensure well-rounded learning. Where possible, it is imperative for educational institutions to provide valuable opportunities for their students to gain academic knowledge and build essential life skills.