Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

The food industry has undergone changes, and food travels long distances before finally reaching consumers. This essay will discuss the reasons why this happens and whether this is a positive or negative development.

There are several changes that has happened to society that have led to food being transported longer distances than in the past. Firstly, a lot of previously fertile areas have been damaged due to pollution and development. As a result, many local communities now have no choice but to eat food grown in faraway places. A second cause is the fact that in modern times, people have begun moving to cities. Naturally, the food requiremenst of today’s cities are enormous, so growing food locally is not realistic.

I believe that the change toward eating food that has been transported long distances has been overall detrimental. One of the major negative developments is affecting the environment. From an ecological perspective, during the delivery of foods thousands of miles from the farms, some environmental pollution can appear. For example, as a result of increasing greenhouse gas emissions and raw rubbish, air pollution may appear, and this causes global warming. Also, carbon emissions from transportation vehicles and the requirement of a high amount of energy for transporting food products over long distances contribute to environmental issues, and these accelerate the practice again.

In conclusion, while it may seem convenient to have access to food from all over the world, the transportation of food over long distances has significant negative consequences relating to environmental issues.