Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write atleast 250 words.

There is a wide variety of opinions on whether leaving less time for free time activities has a positive or negative influence on people life. There are many advantages related to this topic. However, there have been some negative impacts on individuals’ well-being. This essay covers both the up side and down side of this matter.

The benefits of spending a lot of time working are plentiful. First of all, working a lot assists to earn more money and provide better future to you and your family. For example, if family have enough financial resources, they can afford better educational opportunities to their children. This will have a profound impact on children’s life. An additional advantage, is that by working people can afford more active, happy and interesting life, by travelling and exploring new sites. Thus, people will broaden their horizons and expand their knowledge about diverse cultures and customs.

On the other hand, negative impacts also exist along with the positive points mentioned above. Firstly, dedicating a lot of time to work may lead to certain mental health diseases such as burnout, depression or excessive anxiety. For example, individuals do not allow themselves to relax or spent time with family. As a result, they will lose a sense of self-satisfaction and the meaning of life. Another disadvantage, is that a lot of time at work may lead a lack of physical activities. For instance, often office workers do not accomplish any physical exercises while being at work; therefore, this inactive lifestyle can lead to obesity and various heart diseases. It can have sad consequences in the future.

In conclusion, working a lot seems to have both positive and negative impacts. The positive side is that dedicating a lot of time to work can help to earn more money and provide wide range of opportunities. The down side is that ignoring one’s interests and concerns may lead to mental and physical diseases. Based on the discussion, I am convinced that a balance is key.