Some of the methods in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extend do you agree with this view?

With the increased usage of media in recent years a need for advertising has appeared. Companies advertise their products through different mediums and the way they promote them has, in some cases, become unethical. I believe that the advertisement of products has become unethical and it should be controlled by the government.

Nowadays, all people have access to television or the internet, even children. That has become hazardous for them since kids are exposed to content that is not designed for their age. Those young people do not have a sufficient amount of critical thinking skills to know if something is intended for them or not. Companies can manipulate kids by using superlatives, when in reality their products are at most mediocre. In my opinion, manipulation through using that many positive and overestimated adjectives is unacceptable and should be regulated by the government or television broadcasters.

Furthermore, companies have started to advertise their products in every place possible. Enormous billboards and posters at every corner have become overwhelming and made the streets dirty. It creates a lot of waste for nothing since no one actually concentrates or even notices posters in the city, mostly because they are everywhere. I believe that the vast number of flyers and posters are unsustainable and should be banned by city councils to make public spaces more enjoyable and cleaner.

Unfortunately, companies are unlikely to stop advertising their products. Mostly, because that is the only way to become better than their opponents. It is the only way to make their product more visible and valued. However, I believe that governments should control advertising more and regulate it.