Some of the methods in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extend do you agree with this view?

In the era of overflowing information, the online world is flooded with fake news. The spread of this phenomenon has led to some critics arguing that advertising methods are unethical and unacceptable to the public. I completely agree with this statement from both legal and ethical angles.

From a legal perspective, mass advertising has its doubts about illegality. Because advertising has become the main medium for information transmission, vulnerable people with weak self-control undoubtedly emerge as the first targets. For example, a nearly half-minute YouTube ad spreads before-and-after photos about weight loss, with an exaggerated and false slogan that reads, “One pill a day, you will lose 10 kilograms in a month” to attract attention and deceive clicks. In addition, to highlight the brand of the product, advertisers will disseminate other false information to claim that their materials and designs are the best in the world, but this is not actually the case; however, customers still cannot restrain their vanity.

In addition to legal considerations, on a moral level, inappropriate ads content brings people wrong values. In the case of weight loss-related advertisements, these contents distort a healthy outlook on life and aesthetics. This forces more people to inevitably be bullied by society, leading to appearance anxiety. Furthermore, advertising also drives consumers to impulsive consumption and blindly pursue brands, thus deviating from the correct concept of money and not prioritizing necessities. In this way, regardless of whether it is an illegal or unethical promotional method, advertising companies can still ultimately make profits.

In conclusion, in contemporary society, it has been dominated by illegal and unethical means of media dissemination. Therefore, if government intervention can be implemented, a harmonious and fair ads market will be created in the future.