Some of today’s schools insist that all students have their own laptop computer in class to assist their education. Do ypu feel that would be advantage to students education or would it be an unnecessary complication?

With rapidly changing technology some schools require students to have their own laptop all around the world to assist their education. Technology has become an inseparable part of our life and education. Nonetheless it has non-negligible disadvantages to using technological devices in a classroom.

Using a private laptop in a class offers a variety of benefits to students. To begin with, laptops can be used for taking notes where it is difficult to catch up with the teacher. Although many students find that their typing is much faster than writing by hand and therefore prefer typing their notes in class to not miss out any important information. Teachers could furthermore make use of educational apps and websites such as excel, documents and jamboard, as students can use these websites from their personal laptops. Moreover, students would not need to bring vast amounts of books to do research and assignments. They can work on their studies digitally right away and not have to type up later on. Information can additionally be distributed much more easily to students and this is quite beneficial for their time management.

Although bringing private laptops in a class offers these various benefits to students,it brings several disadvantages as well. To commence with, laptops are fairly expensive, meaning that parents with more than one child have to spend large amounts of money to purchase a laptop for all their children. Besides this requirement would be extremely challenging for low-income families to buy an expensive laptop. Furthermore, laptops can be damaged easily during class, outside the class as well it can be stolen which will create future cost for the family. On top of that laptops can be a contributing cause to distract students during class period, as for example surfing on the internet and looking at non-class related subjects can result in disfavor of the sentiment behind it.

In conclusion, bringing your own laptop to the classroom involves several advantages and disadvantages. I personally believe that if it is used wisely, a laptop is an extremely useful tool and a paramount important component of education and therefore i would support this initiative.