Some opine that individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. They think that we must return to older and more traditional values such as respect for the elderly people and the local community in order to create a better world to live in.

In today’s world, people are driven by a career-focused mindset, which is the embryonic cause for a selfish, self-oriented society as compared to olden times. One of the main reasons for this shift is the increase in cost of living and changes in occupations.

Earlier, people used to work in fields such as agriculture or other family businesses as compared to today’s world where people move to metropolitan cities for jobs that produce greater income. In agriculture or family businesses family members used to be dependent on one another for a daily living, but now people are leaving their hometowns for the greed of money. This leads to more people living far away from their family, and in many cases breaking ties with their elderly ones who are depending on them for income. In some cases people are so focused on performing that they spend less time with their parents, and worst case is when people send their own parents to old age homes as they no longer can take care of them with their busy schedules. There are so many videos on social media of some organizations which help these elderly people who are sometimes even kicked out of their own homes.

People today have become so selfish that they have forgotten to respect their elders. In my country, this contrast the change in people’s behavior now versus

earlier can be seen today in urban and rural areas. Most people who live in rural areas are still working in agriculture and family owned businesses and they also have good ties with the people who live in those areas whereas in urban areas mindset of people is more individualistic and self-oriented; they do not care about other people.

In conclusion, leaving your hometown for more income is not a bad thing, but people should maintain ties with their families and other people and help them in times of need. People should hold on to the traditional values helping and respecting your family and the community around you to make a better world.