Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redudant and should not be taught while others believe that it shoukd remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

In this contemporary era, it is undeniable that few things are more crucial than studies for students. While it is widely posited that teaching mathematics is unnecessary at school, an increasing number of parents argue that learning math is more progressive for their career. From my perspective, the significance of both parts can not be ignored. Both views have valid arguments which will be discussed below, before I present my own opinion.

The principal rationale underpinning my opinion is that children are not able to understand math and they do not feel enjoyment especially when they solve math, which is the main reason children think that math is redundant for pupils. This stems from the fact that learners may dislike mathematics because they often find mathematical problems due to some high-level math, irrelevant math which destroys their confidence. A case in point is most of the countries in Europe do not create pressure to teach mathematics to their children, especially younger, clearly demonstrate how unnecessary math is for primary-school students. If relevant authorities fail to address this, the long term ramifications could be severely detrimental.

Equally compelling is the argument that math will assist pupils to calculate immediately and increase their thinking power. Moreover, it is widely acknowledged that whenever, any students solving mathematical problems requires students to analyse information and think logically and can identify appropriate solutions. This is exemplified by approximately 35% students being more intelligent than regular students because they practice math on a regular basis. Therefore, they are different from some other students.

In conclusion, considering the facts discussed above, I firmly believe that in today’s world people should learn about math if they want to build a strong career in the upcoming years.