Some parents give their children everything that their children ask for or allow them to do whatever they want to do. Is this good for children? What could be consequences for these children when they grow up?

It is true that some parents are over permissive to their offspring and try to fulfil every need to them. From my perspective, I contend that it is not an appropriate parenting style as it may produce negative long-term consequences for the children’s development.

For one thing, children with over-indulgent parents may be deprived of golden opportunities to acquire basic life skills in their formative years. Over-caring parents are prone to help their children do everything, such as spoon-feeding every meal, taking a bath or shower, and taking on clothes alike. One main dangerous result of such parenting problem is that the youngsters may be over-dependent on others and cannot live by their own. When they grow up, they would face unawareness of how to tackle well-being or hygiene challenges in daily life, including catching a fever, cooking, buying groceries, and so on.

Furthermore, over-lenient parents tend to spoil their children, which may cause difficulties in interpersonal relationships when the children entre adulthood. Specifically, if parents satisfy their children with everything they require, the young generations may develop a self-centred personality trait that takes everything for granted and show little consideration for other people’s feelings or needs. As a consequence, it can be hard for them to work collectively with colleagues. In addition, another undesirable impact on children’s growth is impulsiveness. With financial unconditional support, they cannot understand the importance of hard work and diligence, which may result in compulsive shopping, unwise money management, or even criminal offences.

In conclusion, if parents want to foster a well-behaved and respectful kid, a certain amount of discipline and family boundaries are necessary. Otherwise, negative results such as failing to learn basic life techniques, money-management, and interpersonal skills may appear in their developmental stages and lead to bad effects when they grow up.