Some parents give their children everything that their children ask for or allow them to do whatever they want to do. Is this good for children? What could be consequences for these children when they grow up?

While it might seem beneficial as a sign of love for children, the underlying consequences of this approach would be called into question. This essay discusses why this parenting style can be detrimental for children in the long run, from the perspective of self-control and resilience.

One of the traits that children may suffer from permissive parenting is the lack of self-control. Based on how high of freedom do parents provide, little to no boundaries and demands are expected for children at most of the time. Children who grew up with permissive parents fall short in being filled with dread for consequences. On top of this, one potential result can be developed such as reckless spending. Since they have never been taught about living with a budget, it can be challenging for them to control themselves, resulting in impulsive buys.

In my opinion, indulgent parenting fuels difficulty with resilience to children in the future. In their seemingly hopeful childhood, they have all the rights to have their desires fulfilled. They rarely have concepts like “setback” or “stress”. With limited exposure to adversity, children do not have any opportunities to develop their competencies to strike challenges. They fail to build up their problem-solving skills initially, which leads to poor resilience when coping with stress. For instance, when they encounter job pressure, they may give up easily.

To conclude, permissive parenting may be appealing because of its freedom and tolerance. However, it is also crucial to contemplate the range of negative consequences behind it.