Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

Mobile, laptops, and gadgets have recently become essential to our life. A handful of individuals like to upgrade to latest gadgets, mobile phones, and laptops whenever newer model is launched. I opinionated, there are both pros and cons to this approach.

To start with, let’s consider the pros. Firstly, upgrading to newer models allows users to experience latest features, which can boost productivity and make daily life easier like AI based email summary. Secondly, newer models have new batteries, and they are more efficient also, which gives better battery life and less battery anxiety. Thirdly, newer models come with better performance than their predecessors. For instance, as per DXO mark performance ranking, Iphone 16 pro max has significantly better performance than its previous model 15 pro max. Lastly, Mobiles, gadgets, and laptops nowadays are a main source of storing our personal things like pictures and videos, and newer models have latest software with latest security measures, making them more secure.

On the other hand, let’s consider some of drawbacks, like buying newer tech products frequently contributes to more e-waste. According to a research report by World Waste Control Management, using old tech products unit their lifespan ends is more eco-friendly than switching to more eco-friendly tech products. Additionally, technologies have so much evolved that previous generations or model’s products fulfill almost 90% of user needs and they don’t need to upgrade. In Addition to that, newer tech is becoming more expensive. As per report by World Technology Society, Average price of a flagship mobile phone has increased to 1100 $ from 600$ in recent 5 years. Furthermore, Lifespan of technology products nowadays is nearly 5 to 7 years, as compared to 2 to 3 years, a decade ago.

To reiterate, upgrading to newer models of laptop, gadgets and mobiles have both its pros and cons. It ultimately comes to individuals needs, whether current model is fulfilling his/her needs or not, or he needs to upgrade.