Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

In the era of rapid technological transformation, a novel wave of electronic devices is making their space in the market. With each passing year, new variants of already existing gadgets are being introduced to lure the youth and technocrats alike. There are many factors contributing to it, such as hyper-competition amongst companies, appreciated living standards, altered preferences, hyper-consumerism etc. Personally, I strongly oppose the practice of buying phones or laptops as soon as it hits the shelves.

Recently, It has been observed that urge of fetching newly available devices has soared. People, especially youth, are going with the trend to make themselves socially accepted amongst their peers. It gives them superficial sense of achievement, which does more harm than good. It is because of sporadic burst of positive chemical hormones such as oxytocin, instills the feeling of happiness. Moreover, many consumers are resorting to impulse shopping to pursue their journey of farcical satisfaction.

Additionally, the notion of obtaining the latest version of electronic items is flawed. Such practices have pushed the consumers to reel under high debts. Because of flexible EMI options and accessibility to banking services have simplified the borrowings. Influx of electronic devices has elevated the amount of e-waste in the world, leading to rise in carbon footprints. Admittedly, users of phones, laptops are on perpetual growth which in turn affecting their lifestyles, particularly cognitive abilities.

However, there is a relaxation to folks who are into the business of technology review, displaying the features of gadgets, thereby helping viewers to take informed decisions. In addition to it, technology influencers are heavily promoting brands, stimulating the audience mind.

To sum up, shelling money on never-ending release of items is awful. Consumers can save their hard earned money to cover up their other essential expenses, or ideally it can be utilized in different investment vehicles.