Some people argue that developed countries have a greater responsibility for tackling climate change than developing nations. Do you agree or disagree?

Debate surrounding the topic of handling climate change often centers around the notion that more economically developed countries have more responsibility than less economically developed countries. I completely agree with this statement, because developed countries have significantly contributed to climatic variation, they have financial resources to tackle this issue.

Throughout history, developed countries have considerably contributed to the emission of greenhouse gases to a great extent. In the 18th century, the Industrial Revolution took place in Britain, leading to the number of factories opening and spread over other European countries. Factories used coal as fuel which emitted carbon-dioxide and methane into the atmosphere and posed environmental pollution. Hence to address this problem, western countries started to wipe out this industrial sector off their countries and relocated to developing countries like Indonesia, Bangladesh. Therefore, western countries should participate more in tackling climate change than developing nations as they are the starter and main reason behind this global problem.

Additionally, developing countries have enough financial resources to afford the infrastructures to minimize the effect of global warming. The USA, West Europe and Japan can afford the technology that would allow the fuel centered industry to turn into an eco-friendly one. For example, panels that generate energy from sunlight are quite expensive to purchase. On the other hand, developing nations cannot bring out those hi-tech engineers to create such infrastructures, as the education index is considerably low.

To conclude, I think developing countries should make policies addressing significant variations in climate patterns and take on more responsibility to implement these policies rather than industrialized countries as they participate more in polluting the environment.