Some people argue that governments should prioritize domestic issues, while others believe that tackling global problems is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The debate around whether domestic issues should be the focus of the governments or they should address global matters has been a contentious one. Although both views hold merit, I believe that a combination of both concerns is equally valuable and crucial.

Proponents of concentrating on domestic matters may argue that such focus can lead to a better quality of life for citizens. In a country, major aspects that significantly impact its prosperity are healthcare, education and public facilities. By enhancing such areas, there will be beneficial impacts for its population. For example, in Norway, besides paying high taxes, which directedly contributes to improving the population’s well-being, like going to hospital for free with high-quality healthcare systems, so that they can ensure better health outcomes. Moreover, if the citizens have access to quality educational facilities, they can be equipped with skills that assist their adaptation to modern society, thus reducing the rate of unemployment. As a result, addressing domestic problems will be foundational for building a thriving nation.

Conversely, international issues are crucial and deserve equal attention from the governments. There are numerous serious problems that a nation should concentrate on, such as military conflicts or pandemics. If the governments fail to anticipate or mitigate potential matters, there will be an escalation of catastrophic consequences including economic collapse and the mortality rate of their population. For instance, the Covid-19 disease was a worldwide concern, so that every country urgently needed strategies to deal with such issues. Additionally, it is vital for the governments to maintain political relations or awareness of international affairs among other nations, so that they can prevent potential threats to national security arising from political concerns and conflicts in neighbouring countries. Therefore, a collaborative approach to global matters will be appropriate for a country to measure and alleviate any risky situations that arise unexpectedly.

In conclusion, monitoring a country and improving the citizens’ well-being pose complex challenges for the governments. While domestic matters are vital for them to improve, international concerns also play an important role to make sure to avoid serious threats and keep the population in a safe environment. Therefore, I am of the opinion that collaborative strategies should be integrated for the authorities to ensure the stability and security of a country.