Some people argue that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In every country, there are both private companies and groups controlled by authorities that do research related to science. Many people are of the opinion that such an investigation ought to be conducted and managed by the states instead of private organisations. This essay intends to analyse the parts of the argument. I, personally, partly agree with this notion, since we need both.

There have been various scientific developments in recent years. While some of them have been conducted by governments, the role of independent companies is undeniable. Although authorities have an immense responsibility on the undertaking investigations, private establishments promote growth in such studies. Since private companies are competitive, they contribute to faster progress. This can be seen in developments especially in technology, medicine, and AI. Another significant advantage of the independent sectors is related to investment that is made for large-scale scientific studies. Thus, there are other primary and vital fields that governments should dedicate money, whereas private organisations are able to make a good investment for their research.

On the other hand, there ought to be a control by the authorities in order to ensure security for citizens’ lives. There may be an abundance of scientific investigation, but governments need to monitor the outcomes whether they can be detrimental for people’s use, health, and safety. Furthermore, the research conducted by policymakers is usually more interesting for individuals, as it encompasses their fields of interest.

In conclusion, a combination of both is required in today’s world. As private organisations provide benefits for the development of the country by making faster innovations in the scientific field, the government’s control and additional investigations are required.