Some people argue that technological inventions, such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that the introduction of digital devices such as smartphones and tablets is negatively impacting social interactions between individuals. I completely disagree with this view, as I believe we are now experiencing enhanced social connections thanks to such technological gadgets.

First, digital tools like mobile phones can undoubtedly offer more chances for social exchange. Currently, individuals around the world can use their phones to access a variety of social media services such as Facebook and Instagram to meet and connect with others at their fingertips. This kind of interpersonal communication can happen not only between family members, but also between people from diverse backgrounds and nationalities, enabling cross-border social relationships. In addition, a number of online productivity tools like Zoom and Microsoft Teams help working professionals collaborate virtually at any time, independent of physical locations, while students and teachers can participate in distance learning using such applications.

Furthermore, increasingly advanced technological inventions can make interactions among people more effective and quicker. Users of digital technology can choose various communication methods that they prefer. They can, for example, use email services, like Outlook, to receive and send electronic mails to friends and colleagues, whereas those expecting more instant interactions can make use of video conferencing software. Also, it is clear that technological advances today are making virtual communication extremely fast. Internet users can send chat messages and call each other with virtually no delay, leading to a rising number of people relying on instant messaging services for communication.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the view that technological tools are hindering people’s social interactions, since these devices can promote more social exchange and make interpersonal communication faster and more efficient.