Some people argue that the best way to enhance public health is by increasing the tax on unhealthy foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some individuals believe that the most optimal way to improve public well-being is by increasing the tax on junk foods. I partially agree with this statement, although high taxes will contribute to less consumption of them by people, public health initiatives could be more effective way to enhance public heatlh.

On the one hand, increasing cost of fast food will discourage people from buying them. Majority of individuals purchase fast food not due to its taste, but because of it is cheap and can be quickly eaten. However, if taxes on these type of food will be increased, individuals would find it less expensive to make meals on their own and it would be much healthier that ones they are buying on fast food courts. Hence, people will eat less unhealthy food, and consume more healthier ones that will contribute to overall improvement of public health.

On the other hand, this solution might not be as effective as health care programs runned by facilities. Even if levies on processed foods will be elevated, it does not ensure that people will completely stop buying it. More efficient way to positively effect on society’s well-being is to run preventive health programs among society that contribute not only on diet, but on maintaining healthy lifestyle of people overall. For instance, such programes include: physical activity initiatives, mental health awareness and nutrition education as well. Therefore, health maintaining initiatives could be more optimal way to affect public health’s improvement.

In conclusion, I believe that increasing levies on unhealthy food would not be very efficient in dealing with issue of public health, and best way to improve it – is to run healthy living programs for people, to maintain safety and soundness of society.