Some people believe government should spend money on preserving historic buildings, while others think this money should be used to build new houses and infrastructure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that governments should spend money on preserving old buildings, while others believe this money should be spent on healthcare and education. This essay will assert that protecting authentic architecture is important, but governments should still prioritise basic needs of people when budgets are limited.

On the one hand, preserving old buildings is extremely important for a country’s cultural heritage and tourism. They may have architectural value and attract people. For instance, many European cities were destroyed during World War Two and restored their historical centres afterwards. Nowadays, they are attractive tourist destinations, and their local economy benefits from it. Therefore, preserving authentic architecture helps cities remain unique and protect their history.

On the other hand, some people argue that money should be spent on healthcare and education rather than old buildings. Healtchare saves lives, while education supports long-term development. They believe it is impractical to spend funds on old buildings, when people’s basic needs are not being met. In my view, this argument is reasonable when budgets are limited, but preserving historically valuable buildings should still remain an important cultural responsibility of any government. I genuinely admire examples like Dresden, where authorities treated the cultural identity of the city so attentively that they completely restored its authentic architecture. However, people’s safety and education should remain the priority.

To sum up, states are responsible for protecting cultural heritage and historic authenticity of architecture. At the same time, healthcare and education should remain the priority when funds are limited, as they serve basic needs of people.