Some people believe government should spend money on preserving historic buildings, while others think this money should be used to build new houses and infrastructure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely argued that old buildings should be demolished to replace them with modern ones whereas others think that they should be preserved for a long time because they have unique cultural value to the nation. Personally, I agree with the opinion of preservation of ancient buildings and in this essay, I will outline the reasons for these trends.

On the one hand, the population is growing astonishingly fast, so that even the government is struggling to find shelters for its residents in both developed and developing countries. As the population increases, the need for housing also rises in turn which means more buildings should be constructed to meet the demand. Furthermore, due to its structurally poor conditions it costs a lot to repair and keeping them tall all the time is very expensive as well. For instance, instead of maintaining them, it would be better for the government and people to build new safe ones. As a result, people could benefit more by demolishing old buildings rather than keeping and maintaining them.

On the other hand, old buildings can boost economic growth somehow by attracting a lot of tourists and it has cultural value to the people because it is a heritage that passes from generation to generation. Old buildings have been attracting tourist from all over the world to visit places such as Taj mahal, Pyramids, ancient silk road. In addition, old buildings represent culture’s identity and enable people to reuse them which saves construction products. For example, certain old buildings can be turned into shops and cafes instead of being demolished. This not only protects old buildings but also decreases construction material which saves both money and historical heritage.

In conclusion, instead of destroying old buildings that keep historical heritages and cultural value, it would be better for people to build new ones with the money that come from tourists. This results in both preservation and building new ones at the same time without harming each other to some extent.