Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals regard children’s selfishness as a result of their daily decision-making at a young age; however, others argue that they should freely make decisions on factors that matter to them. This essay will delve into reasons supporting both perspectives before presenting my opinion on this debate.

Some people believe that giving children freedom in daily decisions such as food, clothes, and entertainment will negatively result in their development of poor characteristics. Young individuals who are allowed to buy toys or items according to their own preferences are often spoiled and self-centered. This is because they often achieve things easily and effortlessly; therefore, they rarely consider opinions of other people, typically their parents, when carrying out their actions. A common issue stemming from this is vandalism, a crime committed mostly by young people who are spoiled by their parents. This proves that reckless behavior and poor attitudes can develop through children’s early decision-making freedom.

Nevertheless, many argue children should be free in daily decisions, as this helps boost their confidence and be more decisive. Letting individuals choose and state their preferences at a young age allows them to develop strong self-esteem, as they recognize that their voices are heard and their opinions matter. In addition, free will in decision-making also results in the cultivation of decisiveness. The practice of making decisions in daily life familiarizes children with this habit, which helps them in future important considerations. These characteristics are prominent among high achievers and business leaders, who are confident and decisive in operating and navigating their companies.

In conclusion, although early freedom in decision-making can result in the development of negative characteristics, such as selfishness and thoughtlessness, it can also cultivate positive ones, like confidence and decisiveness. In my opinion, children ought to be free in making choices; however, to a supervised extent that is controlled by parents so that they can be regulated to lead a good life.