Some people believe that an increasing life expectancy will create serious problems for individuals and society, while others think that people are living happier lives now than in the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals assume that if people live longer, it might have numerous harmful effects, while others believe that senior people can live happier nowadays than in the past. From my perspective, although living longer may be detrimental, we cannot take any actions like killing them because it is completely unethical.

Proponents claim that people who live longer can be a problem for society. This is mainly because elderly people need more medical care, as most of them might be vulnerable to becoming sick, and as a result, governments have to allocate much money to healthcare to treat elderly people. Because of this, the country’s economy lessens significantly as people live longer. For example, the USA spends almost 1 billion dollars on healthcare in order to treat elderly peopleOn the other hand, opponents think that due to cutting-edge technologies and medicine, elderly people’s lives have become more convenient. Those modern technologies have a significant role in enhancing senior people’s lives. To explain, in the past, a lot of diseases were widespread because healthcare did not improve, and as a result, elderly people suffered from numerous illnesses, namely asthma and so on. However, nowadays, researchers have found a remedy for almost every disease. For instance, according to an article, in Japan people live almost 84 years on average because of contemporary technologies.

In my opinion, although elderly people might be a major problem, we cannot take any actions. This is because it can be impossible, as how we can reduce the number of elderly people.

In conclusion, it is true that if people live longer, it would cause some problems for society. However, elderly people’s lives have become easier compared to the past. In my opinion, governments cannot take any actions.