"We should introduce laws to make businesses and state services employ equal numbers of male and female workers in every department or area of the company." How far do you support this idea? Give reasons for your answer, and support your essay with ideas and examples from your own experience.

Some people believe that laws should force businesses and state services to employ equal numbers of men and women in every department. While some people support this idea, I completely disagree with it for several reasons.

To begin, in favor of equality, proponents say that gender imbalance is a real problem. To elaborate, in many nations, for decades, women have faced limited economic prospects and lower social mobility due to traditional attitudes and discrimination. As a result, it might exacerbate joblessness among qualified women and even lead to brain drain when talented women seek better work abroad. Therefore, the common perception that companies should hire equally is a complete fabrication.

However, I contend that employment of equal number of male and female workers might be counterproductive, and this can be highlighted by solid examples. Firstly, such laws ignore real individual merit and qualifications. A person should be hired based on their skills and experience, not on their gender, because it can undermine fairness and competence. Moreover, in certain professions, such as construction or nursing, one gender naturally dominates. Enforcing equal numbers is unrealistic and could harm productivity. Furthermore, the private sector might reduce overall hiring to avoid complex quotas, which would exacerbate unemployment for everyone. Instead of rigitquotas, governments should focus on flexible working hours, parental leave for both parents, and better education to break stereotypes.

In conclusion, regardless of some benefits of workplace equality, I strongly believe that such laws could undermine meritocracy and create new problems, jeopardizing the whole of society.