Some people believe that art plays a very important role in individual and society, while others think that art is not necessary and education or science is more important.

A section of society reckons that art is vital for both individuals and society. However, others oppose this and believe subjects like science and the school curriculum have a more significant role. I agree with the former notion and this essay will discuss both views and explain my viewpoint throughout the essay and in conclusion.

On one side, art is a form of meditation for some people who use it to relax and relieve stress. To explain this, it helps to express themselves with innovation and creativity without words. For example, data was released by a famous psychiatrist that painting and other forms of art assist them to get information from those patients who were not able to express their emotions. Apart from this, art forms also raise awareness and educate society. It is common to see paintings and exhibitions on social issues to raise awareness among citizens and provide them with information to deal with those issues. Hence, it is an easy form of meditation and education.

On the other hand, schools have a different curriculum to follow with courses like science which is also crucial. If art is overemphasized and other subjects are neglected it can be negative. It can distract from other practical skills and may be unstable careers also. For instance, children focused more towards curricular activities like art and sports may feel left behind in their education if they do not understand the importance of other learning skills.

To recapitulate, even though education is a key to success, art is a good form to develop cognitive skills and mind ability by relaxing brain cells. I believe that education and art both have their own importance and it should be balanced in the right ratio for a great society.