Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

In contemporary life, more people are choosing to spend less time for their families. This essay will examine the major factors and solutions for this phenomenon.

The main explanation leading to this change is economic pressure. The more modern the world grows, the more intense the financial burdens on households become, such as: daily expenses, taxation or even debt. As a result, people need to work overtime or even a part-time job in parallel, so they do not have much time for their loved ones. Furthermore, the widespread adoption of social media is another reason contributing to this trend. Even when parents and children physically stay together, they still can be distracted by electronic devices instead of talking with each other. Consequently, this decline in daily interaction directly widens the emotional distance between family members.

Although, this growing problem is having negative impacts on both individuals and family, it can be addressed by re-evaluating our approach to work and technology. To begin with, one of the most prioritizing solution is work-life balance policies. By normalizing hybrid work models or limiting excessive overtime, these policies enable workforce to have more time spending for their families. For example, France government implemented “right to disconnect” law, which protect employees from answering work emails after official hours. Equally significant is “family-only” time rule to foster family bonds. For instance, many Vietnamese household maintain a tradition of sharing dinner, which sticking members together and bridging emotional gap.

In conclusion, people often prioritize work to secure a better life but accidentally create a distance within the family. It is highly recommended that individuals strike to balance between hectic work and quality time spent together.