Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

In our contemporary society, it is possible to observe a fall in the level of closeness between family members and people are accustomed to this phenomenon. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and examine the benefits and drawbacks of this development.

On the one hand, one of the major reasons why family members are not talking to each other is the advent of technology. With the convenience and entertainment that the digital world offers social media, video games, online streaming, instant messaging and video calling , it’s easy to see why people might be more drawn to their online lives than spending quality time with family. Thus, it disconnects them from their loved ones. Another factor is our busy lifestyles which has led to less value being placed on family relationships. Most people are having to work longer hours and often both parents work, so they simply do not have as much time to spend with each other as they did in the past. This can lead to family members drifting apart.

It could be argued that this has benefits. If family closeness is declined, it will give more room for freedom to explore their own interests, learn from mistakes and find out the best ways to improve. However, I believe that there are far more negative outcomes. The lack of close familial bonds can lead to feelings of isolation or loneliness, especially during tough times. Families have traditionally provided emotional support, stability, and a sense of belonging, which may be lessened when connections become more distant.

In conclusion, a decline in family interactions is because of the demands of the modern life. While this provides a lot of freedom, it weakens the family bonds. We should try to halt this trend as it has more negative than positive outcomes.