Traditional arts should be preserved better. Do you agree? How can this be done?

In today’s society, traditional arts are not considered valuable to regular persons. Individuals don’t spend their time admiring the ancient cultures of the world, and those who do, notice the erasure of the research and preservation acts related to those types of craftsmanship. However, it is crucial that traditional arts stay preserved and present in today’s environment, due to the needs of comprehending society through art history and helping the traditional people keep their cultures alive.

Firstly, all kinds of art helps us understand the world we live in. By studying the evolution of art skills, topics represented in paintings and art movements, it is possible to make relations and assumptions about society. Therefore, getting to know more about traditional arts makes us think more critically about social, political, economical and ambiental issues, since all of that is portrayed in it. For example, in the Aimará tribe in the south of Peru, the women develop huge colorful blankets with drawings that tell a story. Depending on the moment the Peruvians are living, the stories are different. They could be about climate change, an economical crisis or even an important moment to the tribe.

Secondly, the preservation of traditional arts are essential to the existence of traditional groups. Some groups can only keep living healthy and comfortable if their art is sold and engaged with. In Brazilian beaches, there are always indigenous families selling their accessories and cultural objects to the tourists and locals, and everyone helps them by buying at least one item. Consequently, if Brazilians stopped helping those families, they would have to resort to other ways of maintaining a manageable life, but very often those ways are against their ideal cultural habits.

In conclusion, to prevent the erasure of traditional arts, I believe it is really important that society makes an effort in admiring and engaging in the work of very different ethnic groups. Also, the government of every country should make exhibitions to show tourists the beauty of their local art, apart from helping them financially maintain their lifestyle without leaving their culture aside. Those actions mentioned are not immediate solutions, yet if everyone tries to learn more about traditional arts, they have a chance to stay present and preserved in our world.