Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first purnishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A lot of convicts get involved in more crimes after their first conviction. This essay will first suggest that one of the possible reasons of this problem is alienation and bias against criminals, even if they have not committed any violations in a long time, and then submit awareness in society as the most viable solution.

Discrimination towards criminals occurs quite often. People tend to fear outlaws and shame them for their past. Because of that stigma, it is often extremely hard to find a regular job after being in prison. Employers avoid hiring ex-offenders, anticipating future misbehavior, which leads to high unemployment rates among ex-convicts. For example, in the United States, within one year of release, approximately 60% of people leaving prison are unemployed.

The solution for this problem would be to raise awareness in society. Authorities could try to convince the public to give people with criminal records a second chance. It would help them put their lives together. Once building a new life becomes easier, most individuals would prefer to take that opportunity instead of going back to their old ways. For example, “Ban the Box” campaigns in the United States and Europe, which suggested removing “Do you have criminal records?” checkbox from job applications. The results were plain as day, ex-criminals were judged first on skill, not past violations, which led to higher employment, fewer reoffending and better reintegration.

In conclusion, one of the best solutions for preventing new crimes after their first punishment, is to help convicts to reintegrate into society by raising social awareness, which is expected to result in a lower likelihood of recurrence.